Is learning to speak a foreign language as important these days as it was in the past? Write an essay giving your opinion.

It is known by everyone that nowadays English is the most common language in the world. For that,reason it is extremely important for young people to improve their skills and to learn as much as they can in this important language. To begin with, speaking English allows you to travel wherever you want without any problems. If you are visiting a place far away probably it might be useful for you to know a little bit of English. For,example if you get lost in a stranger country you could ask somebody for some information without any problems. Furthermore, having a good knowledge of English could help you to find jobs. These days is always more common to find a business which is looking for a good English speaker. In,addition it could be important for you to learn this language if you are interested in studying abroad. For instance, it requires a good knowledge of English to attend American colleges. Another important point to take into consideration is that knowing foreign languages helps you to make new friends and meet some interesting people. It is becoming really common to find fascinating social networks where you can interact with other people coming from different countries. Apart from this, if you love travelling, the only way to know other cultures and new people is by talking with them, and how to do without good English knowledge? To conclude, to my mind learning English is becoming more and more useful for teenagers and people who are interested on meet other cultures. All things,considered I believe that it is very important to improve our English skills if we want to keep up with the times.