In modern society, more and more people live longer. Do you think the benefits of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of human knowledge, human beings tend to have a longer life expectancy than we used to. Although some people argue that it might undermine society, I still believe that this tendency can benefit society and I will discuss my opinions in the essay. To begin with, there are several reasons that extended life expectancy is advantageous to our society. Firstly, the longer we live, the happier we could be. In modern society, we are taught to concentrate on improving ourselves by either learning through educational systems or working hard while in a company, which results that rarely owning individual time to enjoy life. For example, everyone devotes themselves barely to work and left no mind to their enjoyment of life. However, with the lifetime prolonged, people are able to explore their own interests after retirement, which boosts individual delight. Secondly, ageing people usually grasp more wisdom and knowledge which can pass to the next generation. Either the knowledge elder citizens explored in their own carers or the wisdom they understand during their life are valuable. Moreover, this understanding could be significantly helpful to youngsters to help them escape unnecessary hinders in their life. On the other hand, people argue ageing population could undermine the whole of society. They point out that postponed retirement might rob working opportunities from the younger generation and generate a stagnated economy. To be more specific, opponents claim that elder citizens have less ability to contribute equivalent economic effort to the community to generate equivalent economic efforts. In conclusion, despite of disadvantages proposed by people against longer life expectancy, I believe the longer people live, the more profit crowds can receive.