All public transport should be free to the poorer. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that each public transit should be cost-free for the poorer population. This is an ongoing debate. I totally disagree with this viewpoint considering the influence on other people and governments. Making public modes of transportation charge-less could add more passengers, which will generate adverse effects on those who pay public transit for their commute to work, school or travel. In big cities, for example, it is quite inconvenient to be stuck with a huge number of individuals on a crowded subway, especially during rush hours. As a result, this may cause plenty of stress for our body and brain system and then lead to severe health conditions in the long run. Furthermore, it is more likely to trigger conflicts and complaints in such a crowded situation after a bunch of low-income individuals take public transport as well. On the other hand, this measure will increase the economic burdens of authority, potentially limiting funds in other fields such as education and medication. Taking L as an example, it decided to make all the public transit cost-free to reduce traffic jams, but its government must allocate billions of funds to compensate for this policy. Through the huge amount of money collected by governments and taxpayers, the funds in other fields will decrease, which means other people’s living standards might decrease. In conclusion, public transit should not be free for the poorer because it will cause negative consequences. It is recommended that governments could choose other ways to assist poorer people.