Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Today, the difference in opinion between people due to the extinction of plants and animals being more significant than other issues is prevalent. However, some other people believe that there are other environmental problems that are of importance. On the contrary, I believe that the loss of flora and fauna is a major environmental problem that is indicative of the impact of industrialization on Earth. Although a large variety of flora and fauna exist today, many of them are extinct with few others being endangered. This may be largely due to the changes brought about by humans as a result of advancements in technology and globalization. Global temperatures have reached their peak in summer due to greenhouse gases. Owing to this devastating change in atmosphere, many migratory birds don’t cross borders which has greatly disturbed their habitat and breeding in turn endangering these species. The animals are also affected, take for example polar bears whose thick coat of fur is not meant to protect them from warmer winters and this reduces their chances of survival. There may be other issues like increased air pollution or warmer temperatures but animals and plants are more sensitive to these changes. For instance, the howling of a dog just before the onset of an earthquake. A swarm of insects behave strangely when a natural disaster is about to occur. To conclude, any environmental fluctuations are indicated by the effect or harm caused to plants or animals. They are telling signs of environmental issues that we need to address immediately.