Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been arguments both for and against the ban on certain food advertisements. While this can be seen as an infringement of freedom of choice, I agree with the view that the marketing of certain food products should be restricted. On the one hand, banning certain food products advertising can infringe the freedom of choice, and it may not be an effective solution to the problem. People can still access unhealthy food through other means, such as supermarkets, restaurants, and fast- food chains. In addition, there are other factors that contribute to overeating, such as lack of physical activity and stress. Therefore, a more comprehensive approach that addresses all the factors contributing to overeating. For example, measures, such as providing education on healthy eating habits and promoting physical activity, might help solve the problem more effectively. On the other hand, restricting unhealthy foods can help protect public health in many different ways. Since cravings for these foods are certainly to be triggered once people see their advertisements, the ban on such advertisements can help reduce the consumption of these products. This would not only help people prevent various health problems but also encourage them to consume healthier food products, which can have a variety of positive effects. For instance, if a person consumes smoothies rather than high-calorie hamburgers or other fast- food products, he or she won't be susceptible to obesity-related health problems, including diabetes and heart disease. In short, the restriction on certain food products can violate our choice freedom and it might not be seen as an ultimate approach for reducing overeating. However, I agree that such a restriction should be put in place since it can help mitigate the risk of various illnesses to a certain extent.