Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tells us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertisements have a crucial role for a company to market their products and sometimes led people to purchase goods that they do not really need. However, I believe that new products are able to improve the quality of human life. This essay will elaborate on my points of view to support my argument regarding these issues. To begin with, technological development in the last few years facilitate our daily lives. For example, the invention of smartphones enables us to access various information from all parts of the world through the internet quickly and we are able to make a video call with our families and friends from far away places and this phenomenon saves more time and money than visiting them. Additionally, we can check regularly regarding the daily tasks at the workplace by an email installed on our smartphone and make a response as fast as possible which makes our jobs much more effective and efficient. Nevertheless, some people buy certain items not only for their usefulness but also due to the prestige of owning and it causes them to spend more money compared to their financial capabilities. For instance, the young generations in Indonesia borrow money from online applications or banks to purchase smartphones even though they do not have enough earnings to repay these loans. Besides, some people have the inclination to buy a car first other than other basic needs such as homes which are considered a long-term investment because they will be more accepted in particular friendships if they have an automobile to carry them from one place to another place. In conclusion, I contend that advertisements for certain goods are able to enhance our quality of life much better, but we have to consider our financial condition as well before deciding to purchase products.