Nowadays artificial intelligence is being used to drive cars. why? is it positive or negative?

Recently cars are being driven by artificial intelligence. This is due to technological advancement, and I believe it is a positive development since it decreases the rate of car accidents. The reason for using AI in automobiles is the exceptional advancement in technology. In the last decade, engineers have come up with sophisticated computer programs which can be applied to car navigation systems. These smart programs are able to calculate the distance of the car from external objects, recognize signal lights, evaluate road situations and adjust the speed, and stop the car in case of any possible accident. As a result, they are an appropriate replacement for drivers. For example, many people buy Tesla cars which are equipped with artificial intelligence and do not need drivers. I believe driverless automobiles are a positive event because of reducing car accident percentage. When people drive cars, there is always a high chance of car accidents resulting in injuries and even deaths. These unpleasant accidents could happen because of human errors, especially on long trips when people get tired and lose their concentration. However, by using an autopilot option, the drivers like passengers can easily get rest while they are not fully altered. For instance, a study in 2019 at Tehran University found that the rate of car accidents dropped by half by using driverless cars by people in the capital city of Iran. In conclusion, the substantial improvement in technology is the main reason for the popularity of driverless cars, and it is considered an advantage since it is influencing the rate of car accidents.