Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that restoring old buildings requires too much money and the budget should be used for the construction of new and modern houses instead. I partly agree that it would not hurt to modernize the buildings but restoration is both cheaper and more important for history. The old buildings take a lot of effort and money to be useful and safe again, as most of them do not meet the needs of new regulations. Instead of fixing all of them, it might be smarter to knock them down and build new ones from the beginning. Furthermore, as the cities got developed and enhanced, a new city plan could be needed to modernize the city and more beneficial and visually fitting buildings can be constructed in comparison to keeping the old ones. On the other side, the old structures carry a history inside of them, thus it is important for culture to restore these meaningful buildings. For instance, most of the tourist attractions in various cities are historical buildings and it would have been such a loss if they would have destroyed them because it was pricey to fix. The decision to keep them enables cities to save their history, enhance their culture and attract more tourists which contributes to the local economy. In addition, destroying a current house and building a brand new one does not cost less at all. Thus it is important for cultural development and cost-effective construction. In conclusion, even though I agree that new city plans and safely regulated modern houses are appealing, I think keeping history alive through restoration contributes to cultural development besides it is more cost-effective.