Some people say that the best way to reduce crime rate is to increase the number of police on the streets. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is certainly true that the increase in crime rates in societies throughout the world has become a major problem. It is suggested that enhancing police presence is the most effective approach to decrease this crucial issue. I firmly believe this method not only is not the best way but also may lead to certain challenges. On one hand, the proponents of police officers argue that the police act as a deterrent, consequently, with their existence, criminals are less likely to commit a crime. because, if individuals break the law police officers impose fines on them immediately or even arrest criminals and punish them severely. Therefore, police can play a helpful role to improve the safety of urban areas. On the other hand, although this method has positive effects to reduce crime, it is not a comprehensive solution and even it may create problems such as financial issues. To be more specific hiring a number of police is expensive and the government should allocate numerous budget to it in my view other methods which focus on root causes should be invested. for instance, allocating resources to educational elimination of poverty and job opportunities are the best alternatives. In fact, well-educated people or who have decent jobs are not prone to turn to crime and children who grew up in underprivileged family more likely to be violent with negative behaviour To conclude, having more police on the streets is not an acceptable solution to reduce crime and the government ought to address the problem fundamentally with protective laws to finance people living in poverty as well as rising people's awareness.