When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. ls this a good thing or a bad thing?

It seems natural for people to judge others according to their outlooks or behaviors at the first glance and decide whether to make friends with them. I partially agree that this judgement can benefit us and also think it can sometimes cause problems. Making a quick judgemenr judgment of other people can be beneficial by allowing efficiency. That is because in most situations, clothes or hairstyles can represent the indeed personality of people, as they choose them according to their personal preferences and show their interests and tastes in purpose when they purchase those clothes. Therefore, if we use the first appearance of them to decide whether or not we like them, we can save our time by spending it on people who have the largest possibility to become our friends without wasting time on socialising with them and assuring again that we dislike them. In this way, we can have more time and energy for other essential things, such as accompaniment to loved family members, taking parenting responsibility or fulfilling daily tasks. Thinking Fast and Slow, a famous psychological book, made a great explanation about this behaviour by saying that there are two systems in our brains. One is for fast processing of information such as judging people by their outlooks, and the other is to slowly think about things with a comprehensive consideration. And both of these two systems work together in our daily lives which is decided by genes. On the other hand, it may cause discrimination if we only depend on our first glance to decide our relationships with others. That is because human is a complex creatures which cannot be directly known in a short period, instead, we all have the experiences with our friends when we find us understand less about them even though we have known others for a long time, which means patience is the key factor to establish long-term connections with others. If the first impression is accurate, problems such as being betrayed by friends or cheated by partners could never happen. Therefore, even though the first glance can sometimes help us to save time, it is still worth to use more time to getting along with people that we dislike because of their outlooks, and it may provide some opportunities for us to step out of our comfort zones and know a new group of people we can never imagine before. For instance, Bill Gaze gave a great example of this by his own experience. He and his best friend, Tom, had the chance to know each other in a high school party and he said Tom made a bad impression to him by wearing a dress. However, as they get to know each other deeper, Bill found Tom a genius in computer with a great sense of humour. In conclusion, from my perspective, it is reasonable for people to decide their preference on others at the first time they meet them because it can be efficient in this way, while using a relatively longer period to get to know people before any judgement can also be worthy, and it is up to the individual to decide which approach can be the suitable one for them.