(Livia) With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, the number of social media users is increasing every day. Due to the fact that many organizations have accounts on these platforms, I tend to agree that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages since the users are connected to the news immediately by their accounts. On the one hand, social media apps have been escalating and becoming attractive for the most part of the world's population who has access to the internet. As a result, users are having access to their profiles 24 hours a day through a cell phone, laptop, tablet or smartwatch. Consequently, the users are able to follow profiles that match their lifestyles and interests. On the other hand, as the internet is unrestricted for the most part of individuals, there are people that disseminate dreadful fake news. As the number of users has been growing on social media platforms, there are profiles that share unreal information intentionally in order to mislead a specific group of people. For instance, during the period of the election in Brazil, candidates spread these kinds of information to the Brazilian population with the intention of obtaining votes. As far as I am concerned, having a profile on social media is definitely a positive way to be aware of the news, due to the fact that the users are able to follow influencers, online newspapers, professional councils and other types of accounts that match with their lives and make sense to their routines. Furthermore, as they have cell phones available all day, obtaining information is much easier than watching a news programme on TV or reading a newspaper. In conclusion, despite the fact that fake news causes problems for individuals, I believe that having access to social media and following profiles that are important and contribute to their lives is essential. Therefore, the advantages of acquiring news from these platforms outweigh the drawback.