When you learn a foreign language, all four skills(listening, reading, speaking and writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people argue that when mastering a language, we should put emphasis on all skills, including listening, reading, speaking, and writing, I strongly agree with the statement that we should only excel at the particular skills which we need. On the one hand, there are two main benefits for people who are skilled at all skills. Firstly, through the process of learning all around, we can also deeply be involved in other countries’ cultures. For instance, while learning oral skills, you can also understand the most authentic way of conversation and the locals. Secondly, with complete skills in a foreign language, it can highly enhance competitiveness. As we know, more and more international enterprises have set bilingual ability as the most significant requirement in criteria. Moreover, research has shown that bilingual has more opportunities to receive well-paying jobs. Therefore, it cannot ignore the importance of all-round skills in languages. On the other hand, some people do not need plenty of skills in the language. In particular, most businessmen only require reading and writing skills in foreign languages for daily work. Spending too much time is a sort of waste of valuable time. Besides, it is suggested that they are able to take advantage of the time to excel in other knowledge, such as Python and C++, which is an indispensable skill in this generation. As a result, these code abilities can help them in their future career path. In conclusion, although there are plenty of advantages to mastering all four skills when learning a foreign language, I agree that we should only be concentrated on the skills we need and spend time on other capabilities which is beneficial for our career.