Too much attention is paid to and too much money is spent on keeping pets, while people throughout the world are starving. Discuss the arguments for and against keeping pets. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, a large group of people used to keep pets and have created a level of companionship with these creatures. However, this trend has led to a creation of an industry with lots of financial turnover globally. On the other hand, many, including myself, find these costs unnecessary and even suggest investing and focusing on more important issues like the eradication of poverty and hunger in underdevelopment countries. In this essay, I will discuss both ideas and show my agreement with the latter approach. To begin with, there are many concerns over the amount of attention and money spent on pets. Firstly, it is necessary to admit that the rising level of keeping animals in some countries during the last decades, has led to a significant decrease in their population growth. Consequently, there are lots of consequences ranging from job vacancies to psychological disorders. For example, many Western nations like Germany, with more attitudes towards keeping animals now are facing an old population which has no replacement in the next generations. Secondly, while there are many places in the world in which the level of malnutrition and other critical problems are increasing, many public and government funds in wealthier states are spent on animal care services. Many proclaim that money flow should divert to more critical situations like the eradication of poverty and starvation in underdevelopment nations. On the contrary, it is undeniable that we are living in a digital and complicated world. There are more physical isolations within the communities than were ever before. As a result, many individuals have found animal companionship as a solution to fulfil this growing social distance. For example, with many peoples living in large apartments, there are more attitudes toward buying small dogs and cats and then spending money on them in many developed countries. In conclusion, despite some reasonable excuses for keeping and spending on pets, in my point of view, there are more important priorities like global starvation which have to be funded and attract more attention compared with the former approach.