People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think the ageing population has many advantages for business, government and for society in general. Discuss both views & give your own opinion

Due to the consecutive development of the standard of living, an average person’s lifespan is lengthened. However, it has led to the state of an ageing population which is considered either to cause issues for authorities or to benefit the society. In my opinion, I strongly agree that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of having an ageing citizen and through this essay, I will analyse the reasons for this assertion. To begin with, a shortage in the young label force could be seen as one of the gravest drawbacks to a country owning an ageing community. The dramatic decrease in the number of young dwellers has resulted in a reduction in the total of newborn babies per year. Alongside that, the elderly tend to avoid giving birth to an infant because their body can not accommodate the conditions of bearing a foetus. Therefore, there will be fewer options for the recruitment agency. Following that, the deficiency of new workers will deteriorate the country’s economy. As industries require many employees with youthful strength and commitment to serve the needs of humanity. For instance, the service industry demands an immense volume of workers to operate. Besides, the ageing population also pressurises the economy with a tremendous amount of retirement pensions. As mentioned above, there are not enough staff which means that there will be no profits for the country’s income. The potential of a country is evaluated through their workforce and economic sustainability. Not only in a shortage of money and being unable to pay for the social welfare but the nation also can not call for foreign investments. Therefore, the opportunities for country innovation in every area will decline without the help of other nations. In a nutshell, I believe that the drawbacks of an ageing population surpass the advantages of the effect of the old-aged workforce and the burden on the country’s economy.