In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

In most parts of the world, some communities argue that an increase in life expectancy is a challenge to the governing authorities while others believe it is an advantage. In my conviction, having more older generations would make more expertise in every field while their health would have a little impact on the economy of the country. On that stand, I totally agree with the captioned statement that benefits those created by the aged population compensate for the drawbacks for the country. To begin with, the elderly population takes leadership in most fields of the country owning to their knowledge and experiences. such as, they carry a wealth of experiences which can be utilized to increase the productivity, and success of the business, education, homeland security and many more. These are regarded as the key aspects of a country. Therefore, aged people are regarded as a valuable asset to every nation. Even, high-end companies always try to keep their oldest individuals at the highest ranks to lead their own companies. for instance, after the loss of Steve Jobs at Apple company, the directory board allocated the most experienced and older Tim Cook as the leader of the company. Hence, elderly workers would be a blessing for the state. However, with ageing comes the problem of health into the act, and that limits the efficacy of the work that is carried out by elder individuals. For instance, the Australian government spent 20 million Australian dollars on the adult population in the year 2023, which is only 0.5% of the gross national income of the country. Therefore, although, their health could matter on the national income, it's mostly insignificant, and not out weights the benifits. In conclusion, the elderly generation carries vast knowledge and experiences which are valuable for the upliftment of a country, and drawbacks like their health status would not be a major concern to a country economically. As such, this writer is in agreement with the notion that the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.