Sending spacecraft and astronauts into space is very expensive. It would be better for governments to use the money spent on space exploration to improve the quality of life on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Rapid advancement in technology in the modern world expands the possibility to improve the quality of life on Earth in future. While some people support that financial investment in space exploration should be made by governments, I generally disagree with this idea for the following reasons. On the one hand, there are certain benefits for the public as understanding the universe is likely to promote more security on Earth. For example, the geographical features of the cool planet, Mars sent by sophisticated satellites may provide some potential hints to impede rising temperatures on Earth. This prevents the ice on the pole from melting and saves endangered species like polar bears that are unable to adapt to the sudden global change. Therefore, investments in cosmology is crucial to encourage prosperity and peace for all living creatures on Earth in the long run. On the other hand, the money should be distributed to the immediate needs of the public to secure their fundamental life. For instance, poverty has been a severe issue in modern society because the significant changes brought by the current inflation and corona pandemics pose serious damage to the global economy. With the dramatic rise in the price of gas and food, many parents are unable to feed their children enough. This can lead to malnutrition and make them vulnerable to various kinds of disease. Thus, the government should prioritize saving the basic right to live more than any other thing. In conclusion, projects to explore the countless possibilities in the universe seem promising to improve levels of safety on Earth. It is more critical in the time people face numerous global problems. However, the government should make a careful decision to protect the life of disadvantaged people before investing an incredible amount of money in space projects