Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Driven by technological advances by leaps and bounds, human beings are capable of employing genetic engineering to realize many achievements that nature is unable to do, thus fueling a debate that whether it is beneficial or risky for us. From my perspective, I am in favour of the former, believing that gene science can do more good than harm. Opponents argue that changes of genes would pose a threat to creatures on earth, since the violation of nature may backfire and cause a series of troubles. To begin with, genetically modified food may give rise to negative implications in the long run, which would not only damage whole ecosystems but trigger healthy concerns. Furthermore, some organizations or individuals may weaponize genes to fight against enemies or even rule the world, thereby threatening the future of the earth. Nevertheless, humans are able to lower the risks mentioned above. Governments can work collaboratively to restrain the improper use of genes in case someone can open Pandora's Box. In addition, scientific discoveries could help us eliminate many potential threats so that genetically engineered crops will become safer and more reliable in the future. The development of genetic engineering provides us with a multitude of benefits. By re-engineering the genes of plants, crop yield is raised to a certain extent, which can not only make tens of millions of the underprivileged get rid of starvation across the globe but reduce the waste of produces brought by diseases and insects. Plus, the technology allows us to treat a great number of serious illnesses, thus mitigating the pain for patients. In conclusion, I am convinced that the exploitation of gene technology exerts positive impacts on us, in spite of its underlying problems.