Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

It is often argued that there is extremely dangerous content available on the internet, and the only viable solution to counter this problem is that the government should ban these platforms. I totally disagree with this viewpoint because the citizens will face privacy breech due to unchecked surveillance by the government authorities, and have no control over what type of material they want to post on websites. Firstly, because of the lack of appropriate cyber laws, there is no check and balance of government officials who are monitoring these sites. This is to say, not only do these individuals have access to all the information of the public, but also these details can be exploited to gain financial gains. Moreover, these insights can be manipulated to pass strict regulations in order to take freedom of expression from the people of the country. For example, China's government have imposed restrictions on their online websites which are managed 24/7 by IT experts. Secondly, due to misuse of cyber security rules, governments can manipulate the algorithms of social platforms, so that they can control the narrative. Furthermore, whenever different opinions are posted on social sites, they immediately get struck down by the firewall installed by the government institutions. For instance, recently, the government of North Korea has passed Cyber laws to manage the rational opinions published on online websites. In conclusion, I disagree with the claim that government should have unchecked access to people's personal information so that they can use this data in their favour.