Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Poor nutrition and overweight is a issue in several wealthy nations and some individuals think that a tax on junk food would alleviate the issue. I totally disagree with this statement because this trend can have a negative impact on local econmoy of countries, however, I would like to recommend some measures to tackle this issue including, encourage restaurant to make healthy food, and raise awareness among public. On the one hand, I strognly believe impose taxes in fast food can a harmful consequence on local economy of countries. To illustrate, impose taxes on junk food can discourage people to purchase it. Therefore, sells of local restaurants in industrialized countries will decline, which mean local restaurants will struggle financially. Furthermore, many employees on these restaurants will lose their jobs. Consequently, rate of poverty among people in rich countries will increase, which mean more poverty mean more crime. On the other hand, I would like to suggest some solutions to mtigate this issue. The first effective solution, the government could introduce regulations regarding of unhealthy food. For example, the authorities could motivate restaurants to reduce the amount of fat in their food and increase the amount of healthy nutrition namely, vegetables. The second efficient measure, government could launch educational campaigns in order to raise awareness among public about eating too much junk food. For instance, the UK government organize plenty of educational programs about dangers of unhealthy food in school and universities. To sum up, I completely disagree with ideal of implement taxes on fast food on developed nations because it can have adverse influence on local economy of countries, however, I suggested some actions to overcome this problem such as, incentivize restaurants to make healthy food, and raise awareness among public.