Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country . Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language . Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that you only have to speak your native language unless you have to work or travel abroad, while others believe that there are many reasons to learn a foreign language.In my opinion,learning a foreign language would lead you to a colourful life. On the one hand,if you do not want to have trips or jobs in other countries,it is not necessary for you to learn another language that you are not familiar with,because it wastes time and money.It is widely known that learning a foreign language is time-consuming for anyone as you have to practice a lot. Moreover,people can barely learn a new language well without systemic teaching, hence, you may have to spend a lot of money acquiring knowledge about the language you learned. Two of them mean if you do not have to use the language to earn money or to travel, it would be impractical. On the other hand,being bilingual is advantageous in terms of fun and epistemology. By learning a foreign language, you can see dramas,novels,and movies even though they are not translated into your native language. Moreover, you can gain more information throwing reading the original by yourself.Before I prepare for IELTS,I did not think learning a foreign language is useful in any aspect. However,with my English-level approval,I find that I can access global news on the one hand without any translation,which means I can get the news faster and more original. It definitely would expand your horizons. In conclusion, this essay discussed both aspects presenting the importance of learning other languages. For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that learning a foreign language is not only for work or travel but also for broad-mindedness and amusement. Consequently,it would lead you to a colourful life if you know a foreign language well.