Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development.

Nowadays, there is a vast majority of children spend hours per day surfing the internet and playing video games on their smartphones. People have different views about the future impact of the younger generation’s future development. While there are some benefits, I believe that it may be warming. On the one hand, the biggest cause of this problem is parents’ improper behaviours which impact their children significantly. Because adults should spend lots of time on technology devices for connecting with colleagues and friends or for other occupational purposes, children might copy their parents’ actions. Also, if parents didn’t spend enough time taking their boys and girls, they might turn their attention from their family to the internet. Adults should beware of their own behaviour and set a good example for younger. On the other hand, the younger generation overusing smartphones might lead to several consequences, such as losing contact with people in reality, failing to keep up with schoolwork, and harming their eyes’ health. Moreover, they might meet bad guys on the internet or be involved in insecurity. However, smartphones are good tools for learning for sure, we can look up dictionaries on smartphones to check up new vocabulary and absorb knowledge by watching tutorials on Youtube. But most of the children are too young to distinguish right from wrong, all we have to do is to teach the younger generation to use their smartphones properly and restrict their leisure time on smartphones. Overall, the trend of overusing smartphones was caused by adults’ improper behaviours. Although it is a negative development, we could still make this future comparatively bright by teaching children to make good use of their smartphones.