Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for goverments to make It a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays there has been a heated debate about recycling, someone suggests the only way citizens are doing that on a daily basis is by regulating it. Therefore, politicians should take action to reduce the amount of unrecycled trash from our households and making new laws is the only path possible. Overall, I believe governments have a huge role in the recycling process. Firstly, they control a large number of public companies, whose duty is to recycle. Consequently, by putting pressure on them, administrations could ensure they respect their duty. Secondly, the governing system has a huge impact on common people. For example, population compliance can be achieved easily by introducing expensive economic fees, similar to what happens to those who commit speeding while driving. An example of this is happening in Bologna and Florence, where there is a system that requires a special identification card to throw away waste in the bins, if the recycling is not done correctly, the person is identified and charged with a fine. On the other hand, we as humanity have to contribute. For instance, more informed choices should be made when buying products. According to researchers, customers usually prefer to acquire goods sold in plastic packaging rather than paper-made or compostable ones. In addition, research suggests that roughly 80% of those are used only once and not even thrown in the correct bin, so how should companies recycle them if they are thrown away wrongly? In conclusion, I am convinced there should be a collaboration between the state's administration, recycling companies and citizens, because only together we can change the sorts of our planet. Moreover, even the smallest change in our behaviour can make a big difference in this situation.