Some children spen hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is very common to observe children spending several hours daily on their smartphones. This is a dangerous addiction to social networks, online games, internet in general. It is a phenomenon that has both beneficial and negative aspects that must be analysed by who is in power in society, besides parents, teachers, etc. Spending hours in front of a mobile screen is highly unhealthy. The World Organization of Health has said that the figure for mental well-being in children and youth has been increasing especially caused by how much time they are living on the internet, being absent from reality and not making physical connections with others. Not experiencing real-life situations contributes to the development of depression, anxiety disorders, self-image disorders, in some extreme cases even suicide. The damage caused to mental illness leads to many harmful consequences to physical strength as well. I strongly disagree with children and adolescents not having supervision while they are using their mobile phones. Looking from an overall perspective, the smartphone is a tool that can bring benefits to youth when they are used wisely, guided and led by an adult. Acknowledgement acquired online is powerful because is updated, global and instantaneous. It is crystal clear that 20 years ago there was no Google to help students with their homework, for example. Unfortunately, the negative aspect of hours using their smartphones has currently dominated the society scenario. To conclude, young human beings are becoming mentally and physically ill due to their daily schedule online through their cellular smartphones. Currently, the negative consequences of this usage are becoming more evident than the positive outcomes. The government holds the responsibility to create laws and regulations for online platform usage by youth.