Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The families used to be large and extended back then until the 2000s when people realized core family establishments are more viable structures given the various modern challenges. Nowadays, people do not prioritize compound families over nuclear ones once as they did. I totally agree with the given statement due to the reason that society has been tremendously eroded by the newly introduced values that have separated people from each other and compelled them to act selfishly. First and foremost, in the past, all family relatives gathered around forming an extended family structure in order to gain power and influence. Families with the most members are viewed as powerful clans that have an influence on the dynamics of society. However, this took a major turn when people came to the conclusion that it was no longer possible to keep that many people with different disparities between them together. Therefore, core family formation proves to be a better solution for people with distinctive views. For example, as capitalism enables individuals to regulate and determine the extent of their influence, the necessity for family clans has ceased to exist. Moreover, another supporting point is that people are no longer in favour of large families owing to the decreased number of kids per household. Throughout the last decades, the cost of living index has experienced a steep movement, pushing prices to skyrocket. Consequently, people with economic disadvantages have no other choice to but create small families. Furthermore, it is comparatively beneficial to manage small families in comparison with large ones. To illustrate, due to the compact living space and conditions, family members are likely to develop robust ties between them, enduring the potential hardships ahead. In conclusion, despite large families once perceived as a sign of power, in this recent era, people are leaning towards forming their own tiny families to wave the difficulties together.