Student should choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Wealth is a common measurement metrics to whether an individual is considered successful. This results in children were taught to choose to study subject that is able to get them a high salary job. In my opinion, this is a logical approach and should be widely adopted. Firstly, there is pay scale difference amongst the jobs. Some jobs are high in demand and being valued more than others. For example, doctors will always be getting higher compensation than waiters. In this scenario, there is less incentives to choose to become a waiter. Secondly, university is part of a formal education with the purpose of creating necessary skill sets required by the society and modern economy. Considering the objective is to drive the economy, it justifies having more individuals working in high-paying industry. This helps to create greater economy output and ultimately driving the nation forward. In addition, if the student is not particularly talented in any field or showing interest, it is a safe bet to choose a subject that guarantees financial security. In a scenario where the student chooses subject that leads to low salary job, it can cause financial distress and potentially become a social issue if many in the countries are not having enough money to survive. Many might argue students should choose to study accordingly to their interests and passion. This can be rather idealistic as money equates to survivability in this modern society. In short, choosing to major in subject that can lead to a wealthier life is more promising.