Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Many people have strong opinions about whether a law requirement is beneficial to recycle more residents waste. Personally, I completely agree with the idea that the government should request citizens to recycle their waste through law requirements, and I am going to consider below two arguments to support my position. In my opinion, the main reason is that a legal requirement is one of the most efficient ways to increase the awareness of recycling waste and environmental-friendly among the residents. This means that recycling waste and rubbish classification depends on the legal provision that every citizen should obey instead of citizens’ conscience and environmental awareness, which no doubt that the amount of recycling waste could increase significantly. For instance, there are no legal requirements to limit citizens’ behaviour regarding recycling waste and rubbish classification in my residential location right now, which results in people only doing this at the beginning of the policy and seldom recycling waste now. The second reason is that a legal requirement could promote the managers’ enforcement ability and the power to require residents to recycle waste, which is helpful in forming a unified standard and management method for recycling. Therefore, the relevant departments have reasons to require residents must recycling and then implement some rewards and punishment systems to ensure the effectiveness of the recycling waste. For example, the government supported the recycling policy in Shanghai, which positively impacted the manager to supervise residents ’ recycling behaviour, which made Shanghai become the best implementation city for recycling and rubbish classification in China. Consequently, for both of the above reasons, I fundamentally agree with the idea that a legal requirement is likely to help the residents and relevant departments in implementing the recycling policy, which in turn raises the amount of recycling waste.