Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

The inability to read and write some people has been an issue in some parts of the world, especially in this advanced generation. There seem to be two main underlying causes, and a number of effects, which we will discuss in this essay. To begin, one prime reason can be the socio-economic situation of most underprivileged families, wherein they have insufficient money to send their children to learning facilities. For instance, in less-affluent countries, a significant amount of citizens are illiterate because in able to survive, they needed to work at an early age. Furthermore, the government's lack of attention contributes to this issue. This includes the fewer opportunities given to poor families, such as books and scholarships. The effects of this problem on people can be quite serious. Firstly, individuals who are unable to read and write constantly need assistance with processing and filling out their own documents. This can especially damage their self-esteem, as they might feel that people look down on them. Moreover, in this digital age, it would be challenging for them to seek a job that does not require reading and writing, thus limiting their options in their career. Finally, limited ability to cope with the currently advanced world, which involves technology. Overall, poverty of various families seems to be the main cause, and they affect individuals with their future professional evolvement, confidence and their ability to cope with development.