In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that many countries are facing an ageing society caused by the increase in the number of elderly people. This is a result of the medical industry's improvement and advanced technology development. Some people consider the ageing population as a problem for the governments. However, there is an argument which thinks about benefits for the country if the number of elderly people increases. This essay will elaborate on situations in which the pros of having an ageing society are more important than the cons. First, it would be an opportunity for health and wellness businesses. The elderly people are their main targeted customers because these people always pay attention to their health. In addition, they have sufficient money to spend on those services as well. For example, there are a lot of massage shops which mainly provide services for senior citizens. If they want to expand their businesses, these customers should be prioritised as the top targeted clients. Second, some of the elderly people still have good health and can work. Furthermore, these people have a lot of experience and are ready to work. It would be better to hire them instead of some first jobbers who need the training. Moreover, the turnover rates of these employees are lower than the young staff. This is a good chance for the company to save on training and recruitment costs. To sum up, having an ageing society doesn’t cause only negative impacts. There are benefits such as the opportunities for health and wellness businesses and the cost savings from hiring elderly people. Those advantages should not be taken for granted.