Plastic shopping bags are used widely and have caused many environmemtal problems. Some say they should be band To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental preservation has been a growing concern in human life, therefore, environmentally damaging materials like plastic bags should be taken into consideration. In this trend, it is suggested that plastic bags should be forbidden and I strongly agree with this statement. The first area to consider is the reasons for overusing plastic bags in countries throughout the world. These products are lightweight and easy to transfer, also they have cheap prices. As a result, in shopping, both customers and sellers prefer to use them more than alternative packs such as cotton and paper bags. Unfortunately, this situation leads to damage to the ecosystem that water and air pollution are caused by them. From an environmental point of view, plastic shopping bags result in numerous harms to the environment and the overwhelming consumption of these goods is a threat to the ecosystem. Consequently, some people argue that these harmful materials should be banned. To be more specific, plastics impose irreparable drawbacks on the environment because they decompose for hundreds of years and remain in soil and water for long years which make massive water and environmental pollution as well as the death of living creatures. In fact, when plastic bags exist in oceans, sea animals eat them without enabling to digest them which leads to their death. In addition, for manufacturing plastic bags fossil fuels are used and released toxic chemicals especially when they are burnt. This would have a negative impact on air pollution. To conclude, despite being convinced and massive demands to use plastic bags, as all know they are harmful to the environment, therefore governments ought to prohibit using them to protect the environment.