Government should spend money on railways more than roads. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The government’s budget is limited, which makes it crucial for them to have a good call about its expenditure. It is argued that they should invest their budget in public transportation, like railways, rather than roads, which are more used by private cars. I have a balanced opinion of that. Although I believe there should be more investments in public transport, I believe there are a few considerations that shouldn’t be overlooked. It is true that governments have limited budgets and different options for spending them. I think public transportation is one of the best choices. Since it is much more difficult for people to use public transport, governments should address this problem by facilitating it. Furthermore, if people get used to using railways or other public transport, it might lessen some environmental problems that are caused by using cars frequently, like global warming. On the other hand, it should be noted that the government budget usually is allocated by taxpayers, and they might prefer using their own cars. Governments are responsible for the taxpayers’ basic requests, and being able to travel on good, well-built roads is one of them. Finally, we should be aware that roads are important to each nation in many ways, and I am going to mention only one of them, which is emergency matters. It is obvious that railways are not the best option to use when an emergency matter happens. For example, if an earthquake happens, people will need to receive helps as soon as possible, and trains will take much more time than cars. As a result, I think governments should keep the roads prepared for such problems, and for the ones who pay taxes and still want to use their own cars. In conclusion, I think it is more reasonable to spend most of the transport budget on trains and railways, but I also suggest that every country should consider each citizen’s needs, which in this case is to be able to travel by their own cars. Finally, roads are strategic for every nation and there might be some situations where roads are the most needed, and government should pay attention to keeping them prepared to be used when they are the most necessary.