Nowadays, the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make?Has this been a positive or negative development?

Living in the information era, we are able to keep in touch with each other anytime and anywhere by exploiting modern technologies, which in turn exert influences on human relationships in various ways. From my perspective, this is a positive trend that we gain more benefits than drawbacks. In the past, face-to-face and writing letters are major means of communication, and this requires much more time and effort. By contrast, the internet breaks all barriers, allowing us to exchange messages immediately or even watch each other on electronic devices. For example, many people share common interests on social networks so they are able to make friends online. Modern technologies also change the way we study and do business. For instance, students are able to learn lessons online instead of in classrooms, and businessmen can purchase or sell products on electronic platforms, thus facilitating people living in remote areas and creating more opportunities worldwide. As a result, modern technologies have changed our lifestyles in many aspects. On the one hand, it offers more alternatives for us to contact other people, thereby bridging the gap of communicating from continent to continent. In addition, it lowers the cost of information delivery and many affairs. For example, we can no longer pay a visit to a bank when transferring money from one account to another through an online transaction, which is not only environmentally friendly but make the cost negligible. On the other hand, every coin has two sides, which means that it can backfire if we misuse the technology. Cybercriminals have gained popularity across the globe, thus leading to the loss of prosperity and the leakage of personal information. However, the issue concerned can be addressed in a proper manner if both individuals and governments take action to reduce crimes on the internet by raising awareness and strengthening internet security. In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionized communication on many different levels. Although not all of the outcomes of the revolution have been positive, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.