Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People have different opinions about the reason we should learn a foreign language. Some would say that the only reason to do so is travelling or working in another country, but it is also argued that there are more reasons for people to try to learn different languages. In my opinion, although emigration and vocations are strong motivators for a person to learn to speak in other languages, the reasons are not limited to that. It is true that working and travelling are two of the main reasons why we try to learn different languages. People have limited free time, which makes them very sensitive about the way they spend it. Having said that, it is very natural for us to prefer to learn skills that are necessary for our daily lives, and those reasons mentioned above are serious enough. I believe nowadays, searching for work is one of the reasons people emigrate, and we should note that it is almost impossible to work in a country when you don’t speak their mother tongue. While I think working away is a good reason, I don’t feel that travelling is as much serious. To support that idea, we live in the digital era when we can use different online translating tools to communicate with people from different nationalities. Overall, while I understand working away can be a strong motivation for learning other languages, I don’t think going on a trip can play a major role in that. On the other hand, other serious reasons should be considered as well. As regards immigration, accepting a job offer is not the only way of immigrating. In fact, there are a variety of different opportunities for people to take for having a chance to live abroad, such as applying for a university in another land, and for most of them, they are required to be fluent in that country’s language. Another convincing reason for trying a new language is that knowing it could help you to understand another culture. In addition, you could have access to all the content they are putting on their websites which leads to a better understanding of their traditions, the way they think, and their art. Overall, learning another nation’s language will give us more immigration opportunities, as well as help us to understand a completely different culture. To conclude, there are several reasons for trying to learn a new language, and working and travelling are two main ones. However, there are other reasonable reasons for doing so, such as studying abroad or understanding other cultures, which should not be overlooked.