some say that because many people are living much longer , the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to advancements in science, the age expectancy of men and women has been raised considerably, and many thinkers have an opinion that the retirement age should also be increased so that people can manage their finances in their older age without any trouble. I wholeheartedly disagree with the statement as older people do not have enough capacity to work. As the age of a person passes after attaining a certain age, one gets weakened physically and mentally and may not perform well in the workplace. Even elderly people have problems recalling and may lose memory. This is why, they are not suitable for work and should spend the rest of life with their loved ones. For example, in North America, most elderly men and women are suffering from dementia and are being looked after by their personal support workers, so in such cases, they do not have the ability to perform roles and responsibilities at offices. Hence, the retirement age should not be changed to a higher age. Nevertheless, an old- age is a period of being taken care of instead of working, but a significant part of society has an opinion that people should be allowed to work for extended years of their life. They believe that if elderlies earn their livelihood, they can maintain a standard of living and no need to worry about the cost of groceries, healthcare facilities and other day-to-day expenditures; however, it should be the responsibility of the Government as older people have already spent a huge portion of their life in serving their nation. So, now it is the duty of ruling authorities to provide them with enough allowance to manage their cost of living. For instance, Canadian citizens receive monthly old- age security and pension from the Government. Resultantly, elderlies should enjoy their life with their partners rather than working. To conclude, I believe individuals in their old age should not work and should relish the rest of their lives with their family members.