Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Many studies claim that our personality and development depend more on our birth characteristics than on our experiences. Both statements will be discussed in this essay, but I believe that an individual’s personality and development are more influenced by the environmental factors Definitely, the way researchers consider human psychology and mental development is heavily influenced by genetic science. We understand the importance of inherited characteristics more than ever when a child’s appearance, skills and talents start to grow even before receiving an experience. For example, a child at an early age has talented in music and learns music very well during their childhood. Thus, genetic factors play a significant role in one’s personality development. On the other hand, although our physical appearance can be the same throughout our lifetime, our character and behavior would change since change is inevitable. Therefore, the traits we inherit from our parents can be changed in the different situations that we interact in our life. Undoubtedly, these interactions and experiences can shape a person’s personality and dictate how that personality develops. If this were not true, then we would be able to predict the behavior and character of a person from the moment they were born. For instance, a child may have a selfish streak in their childhood because of the influence of their genetics but it is likely to change and the child does not throw a tantrum and does not act in a selfish way as they become an adult. In conclusion, in my opinion, the attributes that come along with a newborn have a great influence but these can fade away with time, and the experiences we have in life are so unpredictable and powerful, that they can boost or override other influences.