Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, there is a contentious argument over whether governments should only focus on the nation's economy growth, or also pay attention to other areas. In my opinion, I advocate the latter proposition, which seems to be more rational. This essay will further elaborate my views for favouring the positive and negative impacts of both trends and thus, will derive a conclusion at the end. Firstly, to commence with the first notion, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that rising in the economy growth would greatly influence the employment rate. As a high volume of corporations have sufficient business expenditure sources, they will recruit more workers, thereby the rate of unemployment will witness a substantial decrease in the areas. In addition, through taxes paid by workers, the governments will have enough money to allocate to better infrastructures, for instance, roads, railways, metro systems, and so on in order to thrive the country's prosperity. To illustrate, the authority in VietNam take the country's progress into consideration and they get the money from the residents to build more schools, hospitals, etc. Secondly, moving to the second argument of this debate, there are other fundamental goals that should also be raised which are important no less than the economy. Medical services would be the biggest concern to people, good health is a vital standard. Take a prime example, Japan has been always known as a country with the top medical care, as the authority reckon that the individuals' health is an pivotal aspect in developing country. To summarise, though economics is the basic foundation of modern civil societies, governments today should not neglect equally as crucial aspects such as healthcare services. To reach the final conclusion, in my viewpoint, I firmly believe that the economy is means for enacting other reforms, not an end in itself.