Planting trees is very important for the environment. Some people say trees should be planted in the vacant areas of cities and towns, while other says housing facilities should be built instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The group of people that suggest planting trees inside cities are probably considering the effect that natural vegetation can have on people's mood and mental health. The opposing group possibly think about the effect this action has on housing prices, and how the cost of living should be decreased for everybody. I agree with the first group for two reasons, firstly because including trees and green areas in our cities could have an incredible effect on people's lives and their daily moods. What I've witnessed in my own experience is that whenever I take the time to get out of the city and connect with nature, I am instantly reminded of how much our environment has changed drastically from wondering all day in open areas surrounded by nature, into spending all day inside buildings and seeing concrete all day. I think that increasing trees and parks inside the city could help people connect with nature more often and more easily, and consequently increase their happiness. My second reason for wanting more trees is to preserve nature. We have already changed much of our surrounding habitat by industrialization, and fast population growth. The number of trees and the total amount of area covered by jungles has already been decreasing constantly since the beginning of the industrial era, and this can cause gradual but very important changes to our planet. For example, by increasing the total amount of trees on Earth, we can start to tackle problems like pollution or global warming. Therefore I think that we humans as a species should care more about reviving the Earth to its more natural days. In conclusion, I think that planting trees and including nature in our daily lives should be done as much as possible. I am aware of what financial concerns governments could have when deciding whether or not to build new housing facilities; however, they should endeavour to increase nature's role in people's lives as much as possible.