It is a common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is true that these days, some individuals tend to spend a year off after finishing high school in order to get a part-time job or travel around. While I accept that there are several benefits such as gaining more experience together with making money for the upcoming academic curriculum and drawbacks including the feeling of laziness, I would say that it is better to keep following the studying programmes instead of taking a gap year. The idea of spending a year off to work or travel is advantageous in some aspects. The main thing is that having part-time jobs not only helps learners earn some money to reduce the burden on their parents but also provides them with different experiences and lessons to get ready for their life in the future. Secondly, travelling helps students be able to acquire more knowledge about the world. For instance, a study claims that those taking a gap year after graduation show better soft skills, compared to those who do not. On the other hand, I am convinced that it is not recommended to stop the studying process for a while due to some undeniable factors. Firstly, some people can have a sense of laziness and do not want to get back to school to study and take exams because they feel that earning such an amount of money from working part-time is enough for them. Moreover, with such a competitive environment at college nowadays, taking a gap year leads to the problem which pupils find it hard to catch up with their peers. For example, many researchers show that those not pursuing their education continuously usually do not do things as well as those who do. In conclusion, it seems to me that this tendency has both advantages such as collecting new experiences as well as savings and disadvantages including laziness along with distraction. However, I am of the opinion that the cons far outweigh the pros.