Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programmes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many individuals believe that reading the news in the press and watching it on television wastes too much time as it does not relate to any aspects of their lives. Personally, I partly agree with this view due to some reasons. On the one hand, It is considered to be a waste of time to catch the news through the newspaper or social media as the appearance of numerous fake news every day. This happens because there are some content creators nowadays who make themselves well-known by posting untrue stories online. This leads to the problem that people involved in the stories somehow are not only misunderstood but also misjudged by the readers. For example, a few famous artists in Viet Nam were said to pass away after a long time suffering from cancer, while they are actually fine. On the other hand, reading or watching the news is suggested as the best way to keep up with the latest information about things happening around the world. People living far away need the news to catch up with what is occurring in their hometown or country. Besides, news can help us to improve our general knowledge as well. For instance, about 3 years ago when the Covid-19 pandemic broke out, everyone had to be isolated from each other and therefore, getting news on some online basis or on TV was the most efficient way to get information about what we had to do to prevent the disease. In conclusion, it seems to me that the news has both positive and negative extents. It is necessary for readers to choose the source of news carefully in order to get accurate information.