Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. In the modern world, globalisation is rapidly adopted in different countries. People have a myriad of views on whether we should share the findings or content with each other, some people may suggest that this is too vital or precious to share in a freeway. Although there are good arguments in favour of exchanging information variedly, I personally believe that we should uphold the valued information by ourselves. Of the reasons why some people think that it is a good way to share the data as much as possible, probably the most significant one is that this can enhance efficiency through the exchange of data and methods. People can cooperate with each other in solving difficulties. Tackling the pandemic is a prime example of this. Given that the different countries ' experts had mutual meetings weekly in the United Nations, and they exchanged data and conditions of their countries related to Covid-19, which set up mutual guidelines and suggestions for the global. In this way, more precise decisions can be applied, and thus we passed through the pandemic now. Despite the above arguments, I believe that exchanging vital information will bring economic loss in business. Some of the data includes key elements of the business, such as the sales profit and the methods, and this kind of data should not spread to the competitor. Imagine that every restaurant has its secret recipe, the owner may test it thousands of times in order to create it. If the recipe is publicly disclosed, their customers may follow the recipe and cook by themselves and even their competitors will just copy their recipes for sale. Therefore, the restaurant is not unique among other restaurants anymore, it will in turn be a loss of earnings. Another significant drawback is the loss of intention to make inventions. As creating own ideas involve a range of processes, if the public can copy them from each other, they may not intend to go through those hard work again. For instance, medicines need long-term preparation and organisation, such as doing research, and animal and human testimonials. If such medical data is easily spread to other countries, pharmacy companies would not put too many resources into new inventions due to profit outweighing the cost. Under this line of thinking, although there are valid reasons for spreading the data and findings in the field of science, business and academia, I personally believe that some of the information is vital and valued, especially specialist data on inventions, should not be exchanged in use.