Nowadays, more and more people prefer choosing online courses to learn than attendingregular classes. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

In recent years, especially after quarantine due to covid-19 pandemic, an increasing number of people prefer online courses rather than face-to-face learning. From my perspective, the advantages that accompany this trend are more significant than its drawbacks. Compared to the regular mean of course, distance learning offers more learning opportunities for students given its flexibility and financial benefit. The first group of students taking advantage of this new learning method is those who are unable to enrol in traditional programmes under certain circumstances. Indeed, individuals who continuously change work schedules, make frequent business trips or have small children can arrange their own online learning time and environment that best suits their needs. In addition, virtual studying is cost-effective since it can cut down several expenses coming from teaching material, transportation and renting, the two latter of which are the primary reasons thwarting the chances for students to benefit from the education of oversea top-class institutes and universities. For example, a Vietnamese medical student can now attend a short-term online course of Havard medical school in fetal ultrasound, which was unable in the past because of long-distance travelling and expensive rental fees. On the other hand, online learning also comes along with a number of limitations. To begin with, students studying via the screen are restricted to pure theoretical understanding, lacking practical training and experiments. Therefore, traditional classes are substantially more appropriate for certain subjects requiring hand-in-hand guidance like art, science, and engineering. Moreover, long-term screen time causes several detrimental effects on students ’ health overall, especially their eyes. Blue light emitted by electronic devices is in charge of myopia and other eye-related diseases among school-age children. In conclusion, the benefit bestowed by online learning is undebatable, it facilitates access to educational resources at a reasonable cost. However, this type of courses remains restricted in practical fields and harms learners’ eyes due to long-time exposure to electronic screens.