In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some nations, youngsters make plans to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. This action brings some benefits and drawbacks for them. In this era, it is hard for parents to control their young children to stay at home after finishing high school in some countries. In their spare time, it is better to push them to work and get in touch with other people. Thus, working at this time is a kind of practice to get experience in how to get money toward working for them. Besides, they gradually understand the value of money that their parents gain with difficulties. On the one hand, going to travel brings many experiences in their life as well. They get enough confidence to deal with challenges and how to make connections with other people. Because young people need to grow and explore their surroundings to improve themselves how to manage their lives. So, it has many benefits for youngsters. Otherwise, these programs can be destructive for both youngsters and their parents. In other words, if their parents do not accompany them, young people may get in trouble in future. For example, if an 18-year-old boy wants to work, his parents should investigate the workplace because it may not be suitable for them, whereas this young boy does not have enough experience well to distinguish the side effects. Regardless, he may work in clubs or other places that just give good salaries but these workplaces are not suitable at all. Or they travel to unknown places where their life is in danger. In conclusion, in some countries, young people are excited to work or travel for a year before going to university. But, in fact, this can bring advantages and disadvantages to them.