Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many individuals believe that a huge amount of money has been used on refurbishing old buildings while it is more necessary to demolish those and construct new architecture. Personally, I partly agree with this view due to some significant reasons. On the one hand, old architecture is considered to be the symbol of a country as they not only represent history but also cultural tradition. Despite a big expense, renovating ancient apartments is one of the best methods for the young generation to understand more about what happened in the place they are living and therefore, they will raise a sense of appreciation for what their forefathers fought for their current life. For example, students in Viet Nam usually take part in extra activities involved in their school programmes such as visiting old buildings in order to learn more knowledge of the past. On the other hand, some outdated buildings which are too low-quality need knocking down as it is too dangerous for both residents and visitors. The risks of collapse and fire may occur when there is a natural disaster such as earthquake or electricity problems. Instead, such a big amount of money should be spent on erecting more modern towers to make the areas worthy places to live in. For instance, an article in the press once talked about a tragedy in which numerous people living inside an old apartment were buried under the ruin after an earthquake. In conclusion, it seems to me that both demolishing old houses to build new ones and maintaining them have their own unique advantages. It is necessary for the government to consider carefully before they make any transformations.