In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countriyside is decreasing. Do you think it is a positie or nagative development?

With urbanization, the traditional face of cities has changed, and more and more people have abandoned their villages in order to find better jobs and have a good quality of life in urban. Thus, this trend leads to vacant suburbs. In this essay, I will determine both merits and demerits of this revolution and clarify why it is a negative development. The first and perhaps the most significant advantage of migrating individuals to urban areas is the accessibility of those people to amenities and facilities that do not exist in their homeland. To begin with, migrants have better career opportunities because there are more job vacancies in metropolises. For instance, it is estimated that job opportunities are almost three times more in megacities compared to rural areas. Moreover, the number of schools, scientific institutions and universities is noticeably more in the urban areas. To illustrate, based on the survey conducted on people moving to cities from rural areas in 2020, immigrants pinpointed education as the main reason for their decision. Therefore, leaving rural areas has had some benefits for the public. On the other hand, suburbs without any residents have affected human beings negatively. First of all, moving to rural areas means that the agricultural workforce would decrease, and in the long term, agricultural products would fall considerably. In addition, one of the most important parts of every culture would be demolished, since people in the countryside play a vital part in preserving cultural heritage. For example, Abyane which is located in the centre of Iran is empty of inhabitants and their traditions such as their language and costumes are in danger of extinction. To sum up, based on the arguments cited above, in my point of view, the drawbacks of this trend outweigh its benefits. To restrict this trend, it is the authorities' responsibility to not focus on urban areas, and invest in suburbs to motivate inhabitants to stay there.