It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent decades, we can see that there has been an increasing trend in migration, as some people move out of their homeland and live somewhere else to find better education and career or escape the conflict in their own home country. However, many migrants found it hard to adjust to their new lives as they may have different cultural backgrounds and histories. This essay will discuss the importance of why foreigners needed to be familiar with the host's customs and traditions to help them adapt better. Firstly, it is well-known that there are many unwritten rules that society understands and follow to conform with one another. These types of behaviours can be confusing for newcomers as they may have different ways of living back home. Nonetheless, they can have some negative consequences as a result of unknowingly doing something that does not follow the community's common grounds. For example, they may not know about gender equality or abortion policy because it is something that they are not familiar with. Secondly, knowing the history of the new land can help the migrants to get along with the locals. Not only it shows the locals that they respect the new customs, but also shows that they are interested in them. It can also help them get into conversations and make friendships. For instance, learning about the nation's sports can bring in a sense of togetherness with the host people. In conclusion, many people choose to live in another country to have a better life. However, despite their motivation, there are some things that they require to do, such as familiarising themselves with the new cultural background and histories. These things can help them adapt to their new ways of living and have a sense of belonging with the communities.