Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars and riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many individuals have the belief that in order to make road transport become safer, the most efficient method is raising the minimum age at which commuters are allowed to use private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes. Personally, while I agree that increasing the age brings some benefits, I would argue that there are some more solutions to improve road safety. On the one hand, I believe that it is necessary to increase the legal age for driving for two reasons. Firstly, youngsters who just have been allowed to use cars or motorbikes usually want to show off themselves as they often break the law by overspeeding. Secondly, they are not mature enough to be aware of the danger lying ahead when driving too fast. Besides, they do not have much experience to deal with some problems which may occur when accidents happen. For example, a study shows that the highest percentage of all death cases is related to the young generation aged from 18 to 23. On the other hand, I am far more convinced that raising the allowed age is not the only measure. Instead, giving harder papers and practical exams can improve road safety as travellers must not only learn by heart all the crucial laws but also spend more time practising driving or riding. Moreover, the government should encourage people to take public transportation in order to reduce the risk of accidents and traffic congestion as well. For instance, a new law in which examinees need to take 80 km of road driving before achieving a driving license is now enforced in Viet Nam. In conclusion, it seems to me that increasing the legal age has positive impacts to a few extent, whereas some different ways can as well. It is necessary for parents to educate their children well before joining the traffic.