In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, children are frequently said that they may achieve anything if they work enough. This message has not only a great effect on the life of children but also some drawbacks. On the one hand, this message may be causing a variety of troubling downstream effects on their life, especially, in teenagers because,in the teenage period, many children do not know what to have their ability. Therefore, this message begets some problems such that they spend a lot of time in one field but to unsuitable for their ability, or they may choose the wrong career path by being influenced by other people such as a famous person or powerful person. Nevertheless, the choice can be wrong for them. At the end of the day, they may waste their time and perhaps, they may feel regret. That’s why, it can be obviously said that the most important disadvantages are to lose time and determining the wrong career path. On the other hand, this message highlights that they should not give up their desire. It plays a crucial role in their life because they encounter many problems until they died. For example, the problems include jobs, family, or relationship issues. Growing up based on this message gains them robust motivation and self-confidence. Thus, if they come across the aforementioned problems, they may prefer to stand by problems and try to deal with them. To conclude, this message causes problems but,generally, it is beneficial for them. The message prepares them for coping with real-world problems.