Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often suggested that the government and society spend too much money to look after and repair old buildings. Furthermore, it exists the opinion that these old buildings should be demolished to build modern ones instead. I strongly disagree with this point of view, as I believe that these old buildings are like memories from the past we should try to It is often suggested that nowadays a huge amount of money is invested to repair and maintain old buildings, but instead, they should be demolished to build new buildings with new construction. I personally believe that old architecture, as well as modern ones, should get an equal amount of many because of some reasons below. To begin with, behind every building stands a history. In my opinion, we should not just destroy the architecture and the history connected to it. Therefore, maintaining the old buildings also means protecting the history and cultural heritage. For example, in Granada exists the Alhambra which is an old palace complex built during the ninth century. The Alhambra is a symbol of the impressive monuments of Islamic architecture in Europe during the Middle Ages. Another point to consider is that these old buildings are considered tourist attractions which can count as another source of income. On the contrary, I agree that at the same time, an equal amount of money should be spent on new buildings. Currently, we are facing a major housing problem. In Italy for example a lot of students can´t find an affordable apartment. There aren´t enough apartments which is why a lot of students live with their parents until they are married. Not only students are facing these problems but also families who now live in little apartments with their children and can´t afford the rent for a house. In conclusion, my point of view is that we as a society should spend an equal amount of money on repairing old buildings with historical value but also on creating new buildings with new structures to make affordable living space possible.