Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; however, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As many large cities around the world become increasingly crowded and polluted, applying car-free days is an optimal method to mitigate air pollution. It is often claimed that the only viable solution to this crisis is, yet there are some people who suggest trying another way. In my opinion, there is no justification against developing car-free days, since it is the best remedy. On the one hand, exhaust fumes from a volume of vehicles are the main-driven factor contributing to air pollution, outweighing any single industry. One of the reasons for this is emissions from cars contain a relatively high proportion of pollutants such as CO2, also other harmful gas. Consequently, air quality will worsen at an alarming rate as there is no stop sign for global warming. By having some days without cars on the road, no hazardous smoke will be released into the atmosphere. This policy would be extremely effective in big cities around the globe if this scheme applies in reality. On the other hand, car-free days would have a greater impact on society, there are other methods that help to tackle the issue. Firstly, the local government has a leading role in encouraging residents to use public transport in lieu of private vehicles, as it produces a small number of pollutants and it is less likely to damage the air. More importantly, the authorities could create laws related to industries or factories, such as legislating strict controls on production numbers. It, therefore, limits the carbon emissions which can be utilised in production. In conclusion, although some people argue that it is car-free days that would help to mitigate environmental abuse, I personally believe that it is better to consider other solutions to tackle the issues.