Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

It is generally accepted that bicycle is beneficial to both health and the environment, but, actually more and more people will not consider it as a first choice. There are two reasons for this phenomenon, and several measures can be taken to tackle this problem. The first reason is the rising living standard in most countries. As the public earn a better salary, the pursuit of higher quality of life has been popular. This stimulates consumers with higher affordability to purchase a private car instead of riding bikes. In addition, it is convenient for a family especially those who have a little baby to travel on vacation. For example, parents could take more luggage that their baby needs, so that they could take care of the baby more carefully and create a quiet atmosphere for the baby to rest and get adequate sleep. Another reason why people do not willing to ride a bike is weather has a significant impact on travel patterns. If it suddenly rains or storms, people who go out by bicycle are bound to get wet and even have a fever. Therefore, the public prefer to take the subway which is much more efficient and punctual rather than bicycles. Although this is a major problem, there are measures we can take to deal with it. Firstly, the government could run campaigns to raise public awareness of the environment and their health, so that advocate more people go out by bike. Moreover, the school should set a range of curriculum to spread the advantages of bicycles and teach some relevant knowledge. For example, schools could set up a riding club and organize abundant activities on weekends in order to cultivate students’ interests in riding. In conclusion, the higher living standard and uncontrollable weather are the main reasons for fewer people would like to take a bicycle. Solutions to this problem include running diverse campaigns and setting a series of courses in school.