The internet has as many disadvantages as it does advantages. To what extent do you agree whit this statement?

It is said that the internet is one of the greatest inventions ever made which opens up so many possibilities to better human civilization but it is without its drawbacks. I strongly agreed that besides the numerous benefits that the internet brings, it still has many disadvantages that I will be discussing. Firstly, with the creation of the internet in the early 90s, data got distributed faster than ever which fast-tracked the development of humanity. For example, the dot com explosion paved the way for many companies that grabs the opportunity to reach more clients which also boost their revenue. Another example is in education, with the internet, education can be accessed globally and change the whole outlook of the education system worldwide. It is acknowledged that the internet brings many benefits and many assistance in our daily lives and also has applications that are still being explored in this day of age. Conversely, there are some that experience the cons of the internet. It is agreed upon that the internet is the tool that lets material travel faster but that also means unwanted and inappropriate information can be distributed and can be accessed by anyone, and worst than that it could be underaged children. Another problem related to the internet is piracy; the creator's work could be pirated online and accessed without crediting or supporting the creator. More dangerously, blackmailing online is created with the birth of the internet where people's private info could be exploited more easily than ever. Though having a lot of pros, the internet can bring the demise of civilization if left unchecked and unregulated. In conclusion, the internet is a double edge sword which has helped humanity grow with unimaginable speed and connect the whole world together but it has created unwanted actions that if left unsupervised could not only hinder the growth of humanity but also effects directly the safety of our daily lives and our identity.